When driving in Texas or anywhere else, it’s essential to know the local traffic laws and obey them. If you don’t, you put yourself and others at risk for accidents and tickets.
This article provides the safety tips for driving in Texas:
Table of Contents
1. Get to know the local laws
As with any new place you visit, getting familiar with the Texas traffic laws is essential if you want to stay safe.
2. Follow the speed limits
Speed limits are known for being strictly enforced in towns in Texas, so you must obey them. If not, you risk being pulled over and fined.
3. Only pass when you are allowed to
Passing is only legal in Texas on roads with more than one lane traveling in the car’s direction doing the passing. If there is only one lane in your direction, don’t attempt a pass unless another vehicle is signaling to move over. Doing otherwise could result in an accident or ticket.
4. Stay out of the left-hand lane
Texas law prohibits driving in the left lane unless:
a) you are overtaking and passing another vehicle
b) traffic is congested and moving slower than the speed limit
c) you are preparing to make a left turn
d) you are on the road with only two lanes in your direction
If you are caught in the left lane without a good reason, you can face a fine.
5. Turn on your headlights when it’s raining or at night
Texas law states that drivers must turn on their car’s headlights from 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise. If visibility is poor due to weather or other conditions, you must also turn on your headlights.
6. Obey speed limits in construction zones
In Texas and other states, speeding through a work zone carries a heavier fine than regular speeding because of the dangerous nature of driving there. In order to avoid accidents, make sure to slow down in work zones and obey posted speed limits.
7. Keep your headlights on all the time when driving
If you are not using your high beams, you must turn on your low beams at least 500 feet before meeting another car or 300 feet when following one so other drivers can see you coming.
8. Use your turn signals
In Texas and other states, if you make a turn or change lanes, you must signal at least 100 feet before the maneuver.
9. Stop for school buses when children are getting on or off
In many states, including Texas, you must stop for any school bus with its lights on and extend the red stop sign. It ensures the safety of children getting on or off the bus.
10. Always wear your seat belt
Not wearing your seat belt puts you at risk of being thrown from a car in a crash and incurring much more severe injuries. In Texas, you can be fined for not wearing your seat belt.
When in an accident, remember to consult a Texas car accident lawyer to discuss your options. They will help you file a lawsuit and offer the right advice.
Biswajit Rakshit is a professional blogger and writer. He loves to write on various topics.